Life In The Moments

Icon

Faith, hope, love, forgiveness, mercy, peace, compassion, encouragement, reconcilation just to name a few

Book Review: Josh Hunt’s “Make Your Group Grow: Simple Stuff That Really Works”

First, let me say that I am always thrilled at the opportunity to review a new book. Throw in that I received the book for free makes it even sweeter given that I was prepared to buy it. Thanks, Josh! As a disclaimer: I have met Josh in person. In fact, I played a role in him coming to give a seminar at our last church. We spent more than just a couple of moments talking with each other. We are also Facebook friends – so we’ve stayed connected through social media.

Part of the reason for my giving the disclaimer is this… Josh writes very much like he talks in person. And it’s because of that, this book is an easy read. There is nothing complicated about this book or the subject. Josh has a real passion for showing and sharing Jesus. And because of that – Josh has a fire in his belly for small groups. And the guy likes to party.

There are many areas of this book that I could mention & dissect why I liked or disliked them. I’ve picked out just a few to highlight in this review. I promised Josh no fluff. There won’t be any.

My favorite chapter is #7 – titled simply “You Gotta Have Faith.” Quoting Josh from page 101, “Groups that believe they will grow are nearly 12 times as likely to be growing, compared with those that don’t believe they’ll grow.” God’s Word – The Bible – teaches us time and time again that faith.. Genuine faith bears fruit. It cannot help but do so. That’s the way God designed it. On page 106, Josh says, “God said it. So let’s know it – and then do it.” Could not agree more with Josh on that.

Throughout the entire book, Josh shares real life stories from individuals whom have tried various methods over the years to get their groups to grow. He shares how sometimes they achieved success and other times, they fell flat. Having tried various methods myself over the years in different groups I’ve had the privilege of leading – I can totally relate with many of his findings and others experiences as well. One thing this book is full of is encouragement. Don’t give up if your group is not growing. Stop. Be willing to examine every part of it – including yourself – and then take inventory of what works and what doesn’t. Go from there. All while making sure you’re firmly planted in The Word and in prayer. For without these – what type of group are you really leading?

Why Chapters 7, 8 and 9 are the most valuable in this book to me are a part of my story. Does not necessarily mean I dislike the rest. Which ones will speak to you and your group(s) more will depend upon yours. I have had groups that have grown. I have also had groups that tanked. And all a long the way, God continues to use them to shape and grow me in to the leader He wants me to. And somehow, I have no doubt that God continues to work in the lives of those who were involved. We should be a student until we take our final breath. No matter how many times we might have been called teacher and/or leader.

The Appendix and End Notes are also worth the time in reading. That is not something that can be said for every book. Some I’d rather have a root canal than to read. Boring.. I also can tell a lot about the writer of a book of this type by the sources he/she uses as resources. I’ve now added to my list of things to read thanks to those Josh sites.

If you are a church leader of any type – I highly recommend this book. Warning: You may think I am not recommending this book to you. But you never know when God might just give you a fire in your belly for just this very type thing! And trust me when I say, “I wouldn’t say never or not me.” God will use whomever He pleases for His Kingdom. I am a real life story of that.

Thanks again, Josh, for the opportunity to review this book. Now get busy won’t you?!

For more information, check out the following websites:

http://www.joshhunt.com & http://www.group.com

As always, dear reader, you’ve been prayed for!

Much love,
Camey

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

