Life In The Moments

Icon

Faith, hope, love, forgiveness, mercy, peace, compassion, encouragement, reconcilation just to name a few

Who’s Driving?

Yesterday afternoon, Austin & I shared one of the most tender times as a son & a mother… and also as a brother & sister in Christ. Austin is in the process of learning how to drive. So, I threw him the keys and let him get behind the wheel as we headed out to make a special delivery. One of our favorite things to do together is to serve others out of the overflow of God’s love in our hearts and lives. Yesterday was definitely a picture of that.

Austin has gone with me several times now to make deliveries to this one family in particular. In fact, the first time we went there, I had gotten mixed up on the streets since we were still new to the area. Austin helped us get there with his better sense of direction than his mom’s. So, as we were heading out yesterday, I didn’t have to tell him where to go or how to get there. He knew the way very well. It was fresh in his mind and heart.

Just a little bit ago, Austin and I were talking about the difference between driving and riding along when out serving others. We also talked about how it can make one want to serve others even more so than before when they can drive on their own. Oh, sure.. having the driving directions are important. If it weren’t, things like mapquest & GPS would not be used to the degree that they are. But what is more important is who is driving, where you are going and why are you going?

We’re praying about the future here in this town and county we’ve come to serve in. For one thing is very clear to us in God’s Word as the living example of/in Jesus Christ… He didn’t come to be served, but to serve. And it is with that in mind… we’re praying for a building. A building that will be used as a food pantry and possibly a soup kitchen to help meet the physical needs of others. A building that will be used not only by individuals from our church, but from any of the other churches in our area that want to be a part. Why? God’s love knows no denominations in Heaven.. why should it here on earth?

Yesterday late in the afternoon, there was a little boy in our kitchen with me. As he was helping me make chocolate chip cookies… he just started sharing about his own life’s moments… and I am convinced even more so now than I was when I had the dream. Some are called to travel across the world to places like India, Haiti and etc…. but regardless of that… we are called to go wherever we are already at as well… to be the hands & feet of God. And to walk humbly with our God.

So, dear reader, let me ask you……

Who is driving?

Where are you going?

And why?

And as always, dear reader, you’ve been prayed for!

Much love,
Camey

Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Responses

  1. So the AWOL one has come back home! Good to see you back in the saddle Camey. I miss your writing and challenges. Who is driving? Well, I would like to say God is…all the time…but that would be a lie. Way too often I take the keys from Him and drive on my own (and get lost). My theme for this year is “Going Deeper” and that is what I want for my walk with God. How I will get there in anyone’s guess…but not God’s. I will gladly take a back seat with Him riding in the front of the tandem. You have been prayed for every day, even in your hiatus. 🙂

  2. cameyg says:

    Bill,

    Thank you, my dear friend. Great to hear about your theme for this year! Definitely praying for you on that.. Oh, I know.. what a surprise huh?

    I greatly appreciate your prayers!

    Much love

Leave a Reply

