Life In The Moments

Icon

Faith, hope, love, forgiveness, mercy, peace, compassion, encouragement, reconcilation just to name a few

Dancing With The Stars

At the end of last week, I was asked if I could sub at the WeeSchool on Tuesday. So…. Yesterday morning – that’s where I found myself. The person I was subbing for is in charge of helping wherever is needed at the School. Whether it’s fixing snacks, answering the phone, greeting children and parents – whatever the case may be.

As I went about taking care of the snacks, I walked around the table placing each of the animal crackers and pretzels just so. I filled up the cups with the lemonade that I had made sure wasn’t too sweet or too tart. I also thought about each child as I had taken down each one of the little chairs off the tables. I counted to make sure there was just the right amount – not wanting to leave any child out. As I had been going about doing various things, I could not help but overhear the Bible story the teachers were sharing. Since this is a school located at our pcb, Bible stories are a part of the curriculum. I also could not help but smile at the story that was being shared. As the children came into the snack room – I shared with them about having also been like the woman in the story. I was physically healed by God. One little boy looked at me as I walked over to his table and then he said, “Here, I want you to have my best cookie.”

A little bit later, the children were all playing games in the hallways of the pcb. One was hop scotch. The other was bowling. Each was a game that I had the pleasure of setting up as a part of subbing. At one point, I sat down on the floor by some of the little children. The conversations that flowed were beyond sweet, tender and most definitely funny. But one conversation stood out to me. One of the little girls that I have made a real point of spending time with each time I am there said to me, “I don’t wear earrings. And I like to wear my hair in a ponytail.” She is a twin. She wanted to make sure I knew how to tell her a part from her sister. Her “identical” sister and yet they are not. She smiled more at me than she ever had before. And each time I hugged her, she really hugged me back. At the end of day, she even asked me if I would join her on the floor – she was working on a puzzle and needed some help.

While I was at the WeeSchool, I had answered the phone a few times. One of the times, I had not given my name upon answering. The woman on the other end is the pastor of the Methodist church in our town. She is also one of the women who had come to the Women’s Event a couple of Saturdays ago. We’re enjoying getting to know each other’s hearts. We share many of the same desires for this little town. Funny enough? She was calling for my home phone number. We just laughed when I told her it was me she was talking to. She had a request for me. She had a couple of things going on that were requiring her attention. She asked if I could fill in for her at two of the places she goes to on Tuesday afternoons – the nursing home & the Hudson House (an assisted living house). Of course, I agreed to go. Why? God’s Word says to always be ready to share the hope that is inside of you.

I came home after being at the WeeSchool at 12:30 p.m. and really started praying asking the Lord what exactly He wanted me to share. The answer I received was not an uncommon one to me, “Camey, just follow My Lead.” He even led me to a certain Scripture to share -one that I know intimately. And so, when 3:00 p.m. came – I drove over to the nursing home. As if loving on those little ones in the morning weren’t enough? What happened at the nursing home and then following at the assisted living home still have me counting blessings.

As I walked into the nursing home, I met a man named James Fields. I walked over to him and introduced myself to him. I took him by the hand and asked him what had brought him to the nursing home. He proceeded to share with me about his life’s moments. And oh, how he shared about Jesus. When he asked why I was there, I told him. He looked at me and said, “Amen!” Two other women I know came and helped lead in the singing time. What sweet sounds were coming from those who joined in! As I got up to speak, I heard clearly, “Walk the room as you share & touch them – make real eye contact.” And walk I did in my 3 inch heeled boots. I bent down and talked to individuals personally instead of just standing in one place looking above their heads and acting as if I had rather been somewhere – anywhere else but there. I talked about how they could cast all their anxiety on God because He cares for them. I shared that I could understand how they might not think He cared given their physical health. I then, shared about some of the struggles I had gone through health wise. The looks on their faces told me He was getting through them. And those looks continued on as I shared about how “Spiritual health” is the most important in life, even more so than the physical.

James – the man I met when I first came into the nursing home kept saying, “AMEN! Jesus is the answer!” And as I sat down on the couch beside one man and put my arm around him as he cried.. James said, “She’s professing Jesus! Look at her walking in the crowd like He did.” Most of their faces were brighter than when I had first walked in to the door. And as I got down on my knees and talked with several of them, they asked if I could come back again. Little did they know – I cannot help but go back again. Why? Because God’s Word is also clear… love those who are seen as unlovely. And let’s face it – not many people want to go to a nursing home or an assisted living home to spend time with those who seemingly can do nothing for them in life. But that’s where they – we – are wrong. “As you do unto the least of these, you do also unto Me.”

At the end of my time at the Hudson House (the assisted living home), I shared about how I was looking forward to going home and cooking dinner for my husband and 3 sons. I shared about how I still get excited being able to chop ingredients up, paying attention to each detail as I cook, and then also as I serve and then clean up. I also shared how I love to cook for others and not just my own. Little did I know that when I came home and was cooking dinner – 2 teenage boys would be joining us? One whom I had invited numerous times to eat dinner with us before and another whom had never been to our home nor had we met. The one, Daniel, whom we had never met, was surprised when I told him he could sit down at the table and that I would serve him his dinner. He said, “I’m not used to being served.” He also said it was the best chicken he had ever tasted. He could not believe it either when I said he could have seconds. And the other boy, he smiled and talked away as we sat around our dining room table with just the white table pad on it because the table cloth and place mats were in the washing machine still. Ah….

The title of this is simple – Dancing With The Stars. There are individuals who the world turns into stars because they posses some type of talent. But then there are the real stars in life’s moments – like the ones that I had the privilege of spending time with on a Tuesday.

So… dear reader, let me ask you…

What stars could you be dancing with today?

Who could use a real touch and not just merely words about God’s love?

Who could stand to have someone get down on their knees and look them in the eyes and take time to listen to their life’s moments whether good, bad or ugly?

Or sit by their bedside? Or give them a heavy coat, socks and/or a blanket?

Or buy or fix their next meal or cup of coffee?

I have more than a friend in Jesus. Do you?

As always, you’ve been prayed for!

Much love,
Camey

PS: Did I mention that I had originally thought I wanted to be in Chicago this week at a gathering called “Storytelling?” Wouldn’t want to be anywhere else but here instead.

Filed under: Uncategorized

One Response

  1. JOYCE says:

    Thank you for caring so much for these people. Yes, we may all be there someday and I know I would be happy to see a smiling face and to hear Gods Word.

Leave a Reply

